How I “Found” Mr. Gold

Hi all! You may have seen my photo that I posted last week that featured Mr. Gold. If not, here it is:

IMG_3378.jpg

The truth is, (if you didn’t already figure it out), that it is a render! Yes, it’s a cruel joke, but I needed to test out my photo-realism skills again. 😉 No, I have not actually found Mr. Gold (although I wish I did!)

How I made Mr. Gold

Well, since you know it was a render, I thought I’d show off how I did it. 🙂

First, I simply modeled a LEGO minifigure (a different one that the one I used in my Johnny Thunder render).

minifig

Then, I created the Cycles Materials (like I did in my tutorial). I found some Mr. Gold reference images (which are really hard to find!), and I photoshopped a couple of them, and I traced them with Inkscape and made the textures (which, admittedly, were not accurate enough since all that I had were a couple of images). You can download Mr. Gold’s texture and many more from the link below!

github.com/rioforce/LEGO-Textures

The next thing I did was create a dust map, and details map (similar to my tutorial which I linked above), and I applied my plastic bump-map.

details

I then took a photograph of my hand, imported the image as a plane into Blender, subdivided the plane, and added a subsurf modifier.

hand sculpt

I then played with the colors a bit (following a real-life image of Mr. Gold). Obviously, the image below has too much of a gold color and isn’t realistic.

Mr Gold Test0000

I modeled his accessories an rendered. After a bit of compositing, it was done. 🙂

compositing

I hope you enjoyed my little joke! And if you were full of jealousy because I “had Mr. Gold”, you can stop it now. I don’t really have Mr. Gold. 😛

Check out the gallery of my other Mr. Gold renders!

Gold-Render0003

Gold-Render0004

Gold-Render0005

Gold-Render0006

Gold-Render0007

-rioforce

11 thoughts on “How I “Found” Mr. Gold

  1. O_o Just pranked my LEGO minifigures-fan brother (the one whose blog you followed today :P) by showing him the picture. But, FANTASTIC job! love it! Some great skills! My bro said that the only respect you failed in is that it comes in its own special box. 😛

    • Lol! I’m glad you like it! 😀 Yea, a few elements were missing, like the other side of the paper, and the little plastic bag he was in inside the minifigures bag. 😛

  2. Very Nice Rio, wish i had the time to work on renders like this. Keep up the great work. 🙂

  3. Also, i love the textures you scan in and i makes it easier for making figures. But i can’t ever tell when you have changed the file, so i as thinking if you could have an email notification on when they are changed that would be great as well. 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like the textures. 🙂

      Unfortunately, GitHub is unable to email you when I update images, but you can bookmark this page if you want. It contains my update history, and if you see me say something like “Updated so-and-so textures”, or “Added new so-and-so” textures”, then you’ll know what I did. 🙂

      https://github.com/rioforce/LEGO-Textures/commits/master

      I have also just added image files beside every SVG file so you don’t have to download the SVG to se what the image is anymore. 😉

  4. Wonderful done with the textures and light settings. It really makes up as a good detail to the minfigure. Could you make a post and tell how it si possible to maek the light either brigter or darker in the scene please

  5. […] specific LEGO Minifigure model was used only in my Mr Gold Render before I released […]

  6. […] a Chrome LEGO brick, (such as Mr. Gold ) you can use this nifty Node […]

  7. Jesse Gabel Studios

    super cool

Leave a Reply

