Good Ol’ Johnny

After watching the new trailer for Warner Brothers’ new “The LEGO Movie“, I got inspired to test out my CGI skills with photo-realistic LEGO. I still have some more to do before I have mastered the art, but here’s a quick peek of what I’ve got so far! 😀

Good Ol’ Johnny

Good Ol Johnny - Render by rioforce

Credits

Rendered in Blender 2.67b. Cycles Engine.

Created in less than 9 days (with lots of breaks. 😛 )

All textures and models by me, rioforce. 🙂

Tutorial

Wanna know how I made this? Check out the tutorial! 😀

18 thoughts on “Good Ol’ Johnny

  1. Impressive. Is the LEGO Movie photorealistic 3D models? It looked real to me.

    • Yes, as a matter of fact, The LEGO movie is 3D. They really worked hard on adding all of the imperfections onto the minifigures and bricks. 🙂

      • Wow, that is very good Rio, could you possibly to a tutorial sometime on how to do more with the Cycles Engine in general and how to get effects like this? Thanks Zaxzax12 🙂

      • A lot of this stuff is basic bump mapping! As a matter of fact, I think I’l; try to record a tutorial now since I’m dong nothing. 😛

      • You talk about it like it’s easy. And it probably is i just don’t have the time to master it as you do. And finding a good tutorial on it is half the time. 😛

      • Lol, yea, finding a tutorial is kind of hard. But instead of looking on a specific topic (such as LEGOs), you should just follow the tutorials you do find, and they will teach you the technique then you apply it to your renders. (Plus, Cycles is really easy. Easier than Blender internal once you get the hand of it. 😉 )

      • Ok, thanks and perhaps i will look into it more. 🙂

      • I recorded a tutorial! I just edited it, it’s rendering now, and I hope to have it uploaded soon! 😀

      • Ok, thanks Rio. 🙂

  2. Looks fabulous Rio! Did you use an HDR map to get those reflections? Great work! 😀

  3. […] First, I simply modeled a LEGO minifigure (a different one that the one I used in my Johnny Thunder render). […]

  4. […] this charming guy. Everything was modelled in Blender. Rendering was done in Cycles. A tutorial on youtube worked as a basis for the shader. I played around with the fresnel node a bit and also added seams […]

  5. Hi there, I used your tutorial as a basis and played around with different settings that’s what I came up with. Thanks for sharing your knowledge. http://quaintproject.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/lego-minifig-created-with-blender-and-cycles/

    Cheers Markus

Leave a Reply

