The Bilora Bella

Hi all! I started this project on Monday, April 15, and I finished it on Wednesday, April 17th. This is an antique German Camera my grandfather owned, and I wanted to see how it would look in 3D. Then, a little while later, I refined it. 🙂 (And obviously, I messed up the tiling of the scratches and the other bump maps…) So here it is (scroll down to see the original):

camera0000

Original

Bella - Front

Bella - Lens

Bella - Bilora Logo

Bella - back

Wireframe Renders

Wire - Front Wire - LensWire - LogoWire - Back

Credits

Modeling, texturing, rendering, composting: done by me, rioforce, in Blender 2.66a.

Rendered in Blender Cycles Render. 300 Samples.

Wireframes rendered in Blender Internal Render.

14 thoughts on “The Bilora Bella

  1. Reblogged this on Triangle717 and commented:
    Usually I don’t reblog stuff, especially my bro’s stuff, but I had to do this. He has come really far since starting 3D on year ago this month. He did very well on this camera, and I am proud of him. 🙂

  2. I agree he is doing very well, and i know it isn’t right but i can’t help but feel a bit jealous but i know God has great plans for Rio and me as modelers or whatever he wants to be. Great Job Rio and keep up the awesome work. 🙂

  3. Maximium Johansson

    Awesome work! I’m wondering if you could help me out here. I just started Blender not long ago and I am modelling a similar camera for a school project. I got most of the camera done but having some trouble with something similar to the part that wrapped around the lens where the triangular patterns are. I tried to extrude up and down a few time but it ended up very messy around the lens holder. Which function did you use to get the neat and smooth result? Really appreciate this!

    • Thanks!

      Basically, I subdivided my circle a few times, and I selected every-other vertex and pulled them in. Do you understand? I can show you a pic or video if you want. 🙂

      • Maximium Johansson

        That’s so smart of you! I couldn’t figure it out. But did you still need to extrude after adjusting the vertex? If it’s no trouble I’d love to see a pic or video. Thanks a lot!

    • Here’s a video.

      Note: When I’m selecting the edges around the rim, you can fast forward a bit, it gets long. 😛

      Note 2: I recommend you add a few more subdivisions around the rim. I didn’t do many, and the ridges are too large. If I would have had more vertices, I could have had a better ridge that didn’t look like pie-crust. 😛

  4. -jaw drops- Oh my word Rio! That looks AWESOME! I guess someone’s been practicing! Serious talent here, hope to see it keep growing. Just followed your secret lair 😉

Leave a Reply

